Business Person of the Year

“This year saw a diverse and exciting collection of nominations for the George Business Chamber Business Person of the Year and Entrepreneur of the Year Awards.
The nominees were judged by an independent panel of evaluators who used a scorecard system to ascertain who the top candidates would be. Of all of the nominations submitted, a list of 18 finalists was determined by selecting those nominees with the highest scores. The scoring was calculated by allocating points in each of the various sections which included personal qualifications of the nominee, Leadership strengths, growth within the business in terms of sales and employment opportunities and the impact that the business has on the Community.

We are extremely proud to be able to host such an event and to be associated with the Business men and women of George who are the true inspiration behind this Gala evening.

Although the economy is challenging and most businesses are experiencing difficulties, there is a sense of hope and renewed energies. Many companies are diversifying their product ranges whilst others are focusing on their core business and using their own “fail safe” strategies to survive and succeed in these trying times. We are very proud to be associated with these tenacious and courageous business men and women. This event would not be possible without the loyal support of our members and the support of our sponsors Nedbank Business, Die Burger and Cape Consumers.” For the first time this year, The George Business Chamber has introduced an “Outstanding Achievement Award.”  This award was presented to Carli Bunding – Venter, Manager of Economic Development-George Municipality, in recognition for her commitment, dedication and energy in the endeavor to improve the overall Economic Development of George and surrounding area.



Entrepreneur of the Year 2012 Winner: Jonel Ackerman (FarmFresh Direct)

Jonel Ackerman of Farm Fresh Direct has a heart for George. Her passion and focus is to bring fresh produce at affordable prices to the public via online purchasing system.  This project allows farmers, bakers and other informal producers to have an alternative market and outlet for their wares.  By supporting the farmers and local suppliers, Farm Fresh Direct and the consumers who buy from FarmFresh Direct, have a role to play in keeping the employees of the suppliers employed.

Entrepreneur Runners Up.

  • Deon Mocke:  Outeniqua Farmer’s Market
  • Joe Afrika: Loxion Lounge

Entrepreneur Finalists:

  • Andre Snyman: ProtechSA
  • David & Carol Stopforth: Dynamic Printworx
  • Jonathan Stanton Humphreys: Realstart Youth Development
  • Warren Moult: Eco Guttering
  • Nico Theron: Martin’s Funerals

Business Person of the Year 2012 Winner 2012 – Steve Hurt (Afrigetics)

Steve Hurt is a business man who has dedicated the last decade to commercializing Southern African traditional medicinal plants.  His business exports processed plants and plant extracts for medicinal use to USA, Canada, Europe, Asia and Iran.  His business is environmentally sustainable and plants are harvested in the wild under the auspices of nature conservation.  Afrigetics has manufactured a unique herbal extract for colds and flu and a major European Company has requested a world wide exclusive distribution agreement for this.Afrigetics has also signed a benefit sharing agreement with the SAN people that gives a share of profits to the SAN administrative body.


Business person of the Year 2012: Runners Up.

  • Louis van Rensburg- Van Rensburg Auctioneers
  • Peter Reinstorf – Safari Manufacturing

Business Person of the Year 2012: Finalists

  • Rion Olivier : Garden Route Mall
  • Gert Niehaus: AVBOB
  • Mariska Cloete: Jesua Consultants
  • Hennie Burger: M Sec Security
  • Marina Victor: BMS Boekhou Dienste
  • Frederik Combrink: George Kwekery
  • Abrie von Wielligh & Norman Meyer: MeyerVonWeillich



Share Button

Leave a Reply